He taught me my value. He drew this self-portrait.

Just before bed tonight I was making some tea when a strange thought crossed my mind: I started focusing on the question:  who do I think I am.  I just kept asking myself “who do you think you are, who do you think you are?”  

Then I told myself,  I think I am “somebody”!

  • someone of value, worth, integrity
  • whose life matters
  • who respects others
  • whose existence is not an accident
  • who was made for a purpose
  • who is loyal, kind, trustworthy
  • whose full potential is still unfolding
  • who is productive
  • who is loving and loveable
  • who is responsible for living out every single one of my giftings

Then, I had to wonder “what makes you think you are “all that“?

Then I remembered – MY DAD TOLD ME SO.

 

He was a living example of commitment, dedication, strength, and integrity.  An Army Veteran, Electrical Engineer,  and artist, he was self disciplined, self respecting, he cherished my Mother, flawlessly supported our household, taught geometry, art, and introduced me to Kipling and Kierkegaard, and Gibran.

I never knew where my Dad was coming from when all those long drawn out lectures began, nor where he was going until they ended, but I ALWAYS listened, and he ALWAYS expected me to learn from and apply what he was teaching.

So I did.  And so I do.

That is why I think I am “somebody”- and why I know my life matters, has worth and value, and is consequential.  I have the responsibility to live out that worth and value.

So, I think I am somebody because my Daddy told me so.


Leave a comment